Morehead State celebrates Homecoming 2021



Students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of Morehead State University gathered to celebrate blue and gold during MSU’s annual reunion weekend.

“Homecoming 2021 has been an incredible gathering of Eagles on a perfect weekend,” said Mindy Highley (class of 1991, 1993), assistant vice president for alumni relations and development. “The alumni have returned to reminisce about their time on campus and to connect with today’s students. Each year around this time, thousands of people return home to Morehead State and prove the truth of the saying “Once an eagle, always an eagle. “”

Several organizations and groups held reunions over the reunion weekend, including the 1970 and 1971 50th-year class reunions and the African-American alumni reunion.

On Friday, October 15, MSU hosted a virtual event with its Memorial Brick Ceremony to honor faculty and staff who have passed away in the past year. That evening, there was also a reunion launch celebration at the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC).

The day’s activities concluded with the Homecoming Alumni Awards at Button Auditorium, where alumni and friends of MSU honored the 2021 Founders Award for University Service and the recipients of the 2020 and 2021 Alumni Awards. .

Alumni Award Recipients:

2021 Founders Award for University Service

  • Dr. Bob Albert (Class of 1984, 1985)

2021 Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Tom Clay (Class of 1983)
  • Gary Kidwell (Class of 1965, 1973, 1986)
  • Ramona Judge Vikan (Class of 1998)

2020 Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Dr Jeffrey Bumpous (class of 1984)
  • Mac Caudill (Class of 1993)
  • Dr Willi Walker (class of 1956)

Rising Eagle Award Winners

  • 2021 recipient – Nathan Blum (Class of 2012)
  • 2020 recipient – Dr Jordan Atkinson (Class of 2009, 2010)

Eagle Spirit Award Winners

  • 2021 recipient – Amber Philpott Hill (class of 2003)
  • 2020 recipients – Rocky (class of 1990) and Barbara Niemeyer

Winner of the Notable Alumni Award

  • 2020 recipient – Dr. Jack Herlihy (class of 1969, 1972)

The MSU Homecoming Parade brought together alumni, students, faculty, staff and the community as it crossed Main Street in downtown Morehead on Saturday morning, October 16.

Later that afternoon, the MSU Eagle football team defeated Butler with a final score of 31-8.

At halftime, Morehead Sr. Sarah Hallock and Lovely Sr. Cody Hammonds were crowned Queen and Reunion King this year. The reunion tribunal members were Angelique Clay (senior, Columbus, Ohio), M’Shae Mathews (senior, Morehead), Montana Runnels (senior, Proctorville, Ohio), Isabella Washka (senior, Latana, Texas), Spencer Dubbels ( senior, Clay County), Alontá Linton (senior, Springfield), Jimmy Ray (senior, Pikeville) and Ethan Wells (senior, Elkhorn City).

See a photo gallery from Homecoming 2021 at

Watch our MSU Homecoming 2021 YouTube playlist with event and feature highlights on the award winners below:

MSU Homecoming 2022 will take place October 21-22, 2022. For more information, visit


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.