FEMA Approves Additional Winter Storm Assistance For Some Texas Counties While Others Still Need It



AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas Emergency Management Division (TDEM) announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved 44 of Texas’ 254 counties for all categories of federal government assistance under The White House’s declaration of major disaster for the February winter Storm, according to a statement from the Texas Emergency Management Division on Monday.

“We appreciate the federal government’s recognition that Texans have been affected by the winter storm and are grateful for the disaster assistance that has been approved so far, but we believe the data shows Texas is reaching federal thresholds for additional aid, ”said TDEM chief Nim Kidd. . “We look forward to working with FEMA to ensure all storm-affected counties in Texas receive the federal support they need.”

The comprehensive federal government assistance program provides grants for a variety of public sector services, including debris removal (Category A), emergency protective measures (Category B), as well as construction work. permanent infrastructure, including roads and bridges (Category C), water control facilities (Category D), public buildings and equipment (Category E), utilities (Category F), and parks and recreational facilities ( Category G).

The 44 counties approved for all FEMA Public Assistance Categories (AGs) include (Concho Valley Counties in fat):

Austin, Bastrop, Blanco, Borden, Cherokee, Coke, Crosby, Dawson, Delta, DeWitt, Dickens, Edwards, Erath, Falls, Garza, Gillespie, Gonzales, Houston, Irion, Kerr, Kimble, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Llano, Lynn, Mason, Ménard, Milam, Motley, Nacogdoches, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Real, Red River, Sabine, San Augustine, Schleicher, Shelby, Sterling, Taylor, Tom Green, Walker and Washington.

Besides, Irion County and Taylor County were approved for snow aid under the federal government assistance program.

Initially, FEMA only approved assistance for emergency protective measures (Category B) in the 254 counties of Texas. Over the following months, TDEM worked with local authorities to gather supporting documentation and justify the need for all categories of federal government assistance. TDEM submitted the additional documentation to FEMA on July 30, requesting that all categories of federal government assistance be made available statewide.

Last week, FEMA determined that the damage to the infrastructure was not of the severity and magnitude to warrant the designation for additional public assistance for the following 210 counties (Concho Valley counties in fat:

Anderson, Andrews, Angelina, Aransas, Archer, Armstrong, Atascosa, Bailey, Bandera, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Bosque, Bowie, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, Camp, Carson, Cass, Castro, Chambers, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coleman, Collin, Collingsworth, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dallam, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Dimmit, Donley, Duval, Eastland, Ector, Ellis, El Paso, Fannin, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Fort Bend, Franklin, Freestone, Frio, Gaines, Galveston, Glasscock, Goliad, Gray, Grayson, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hall, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Hartley, Haskell, Hays, Hemphill, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hockley, Hood, Hopkins, Howard, Hudspeth, Hunt, Hutchinson, Jack, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kennedy, Kent, King, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, Lamar, Lamb , Lampasas, La Salle, Liberty, Limestone, Lipscomb, Live Oak, Loving, Lubbock, Madison, Marion, Martin, Matagorda, Maverick, Mcculloch, McLennan, McMullen, Medina, Midland, Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Montgomery, Moore, Morris, Navarro, Newton, Nueces, Ochiltree, Oldham, Orange, Panola, Parker, Parmer, Pecos, Polk, Potter, Presidio, Rains, Randall , Reagan, Reeves, Refugio, Roberts, Robertson, Rockwall, Canals, Rusk, San Jacinto, San Patricio, San Saba, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Smith, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Tarrant, Terrell, Terry, Throckmorton, Titus, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Waller, Ward, Webb, Wharton, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Willacy, Williamson , Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Wood, Yoakum, Young, Zapata and Zavala.

Local officials wishing to appeal FEMA’s decision are urged to submit additional disaster costs through their TDEM District Coordinator / Recovery Coordinator by October 1.st, so that TDEM can submit a final appeal for federal help if needed.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.