Farmers and Ranchers in 11 Texas Counties Eligible for Disaster Assistance | Characteristics


AUSTIN – The agricultural services agency of the United States Department of Agriculture has designated 11 counties in Texas as major disaster areas, qualifying them to receive federal emergency loans.

Producers are eligible for loans if damage occurred during at least one of the following four events: Hurricane Nicholas on September 14; excessive humidity that occurred from May 1 to September. 30 ; the winter storm Uri which occurred from February 10 to 19; and drought, according to a press release.

Loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm or refinancing certain debts,” officials said. USDA.

The FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, available security and repayment capacity, the statement said. Each event has a different deadline for submitting an application.

The top 11 eligible counties are Foard, Wilbarger, Throckmorton, Young, Castro, Hale, Jim Wells, Kleberg, Nueces, Willacy and Brazoria.

According to the statement, 34 other contiguous counties are also eligible to receive funding.

This includes Palo Pinto County, which qualifies for damage that occurred during the winter storm in February. The deadline to submit an application is August 8.

For production losses, a 30% reduction of a primary crop in a designated or contiguous county is required. Quality losses, such as getting a 30% reduced price for crops damaged by floods, may also be eligible for assistance, he said.

“These loans help producers who experience qualifying agricultural losses directly caused by the disaster in a county declared or designated as a disaster or primary quarantine area,” USDA officials said.


Comments are closed.